So, I buy Nightwing on a whim. Because last month's was relatively tolerable and I even occasionally picked up issues during the Jones and Grayson runs, just so I could remind myself of my virile and irrational hatred of the character.
And what do I find?
A Dick that's on the phone with Alfred. A Dick that's not a solitary angst-boy and is at least keeping communication with a supportive familial figure.
A Dick that has an ally doing tech work for him. An ally he seems to be protectively fraternal toward.
A Dick that helps some kid in a gym improve his acrobatic work, showing him how it's done and giving pointers in an easy-going and friendly manner.
A Dick that can have a conversation with a woman that doesn't immediately devolve into a mooning, teenage crush on him, reference to unbearable sexual tension, or falling immediately into bed. I mean sure, she's probably an eventual love interest. But they're not having sex yet!
A Dick that has exactly two panels of reflected angst over the death of his parents in the course of the book. No "OMG, I FAILED" or "Batman doesn't love me!" in sight.
A Dick that has a sense of humor that is wry and wisecracky without going overboard.
A Dick that is able to use his general empathy and approachability to gently question a grieving widow and gain her cooperation.
A Dick that, thanks to Jurgens, manages to look both attractive and a little goofy (horrible hair works for him) which goes a long way in divorcing him from the over-angsty pretty boy and returns to him the proper dork-tastic charm.
In short, while the plot is still nothing special, Wolfman has delivered on a Dick Grayson that finally feels like a grown-up version of Robin again.
He's delivered a Dick Grayson I actually LIKE.
I feel my life sustaining (or at least blog entry-sustaining) hatred of Dick Grayson ebbing...
DARN YOU WOLFMAN! DARN YOU!
(I still think your name is awesome though.)
Labels: characters I don't get, dick grayson